Once you have created a Smart Network, you can update its settings, change the rules that determine membership, review Network statistics, manage Network roles, or delete the Network.
☝️ Before you start: Smart Networks use rules to automatically determine membership, while Standard Networks are generally managed directly. If you are new to Smart Networks, we recommend reading Smart Networks Intro first.
Edit & View a Smart Network
To view or edit a Smart Network:
- In the Management Dashboard, go to Users.
- Select Networks.
- Find the Smart Network you want to manage.
- Click the Network to open it.
Your Smart Network contains several tabs where you can view and manage different parts of the Network.
☝️You cannot convert a Smart Network into a Standard Network, or a Standard Network into a Smart Network. If you need a different Network type, you must create a new Network.
Overview
The Overview tab contains the basic information and settings for your Smart Network.
Depending on your permissions, you can edit:
- Name
- Network type
- Notes
- Tags
- Organizational size
- Contact and location information
- Branding
To update a setting, make your changes and don’t forget to click the save button after.
You can scroll to the bottom of the page and click Delete.
⚠️ Warning: Deleting a Smart Network cannot be undone. You should ensure the network is no longer needed before deleting it.
Statistics
The Statistics tab is view-only and provides an overview of the activity associated with the network.
You can see information such as:
- Number of members
- Number of managers
- Trips and miles traveled
- Estimated CO₂ savings
- Other available activity and impact statistics
Use these statistics to understand the size and activity of the group identified by your Smart Network.
Membership
The Membership tab contains the rules that determine who belongs to your Smart Network.
Edit membership rules
To change who belongs to the Network, update the rules that define membership.
For example, you might have a Smart Network for users who have logged at least four carpool trips in the past month. You could change the rule to require five trips instead.
As you make changes, CommuteHub shows you a preview of how the membership would change.
You can review which users would:
- Be added to the Network
- No longer meet the requirements and be removed
Review the preview before applying your changes.
Once the changes are applied, CommuteHub automatically updates the Network membership based on the new rules.
☝️ Note: Membership changes may take up to 24 hours to be fully reflected.
For more information about creating and combining membership rules, see Create a Smart Network.
Access & Membership
Smart Networks can be Visible or Hidden. Visible Networks can be seen by users in your organization. When a Network is hidden users don’t know that they are part of it.
Changing the visibility does not affect Network membership. Users are still added or removed based on the membership rules.
Roles
The Roles tab allows you to manage the users who have management permissions within the Smart Network.
You can add, remove, or change Manager and Program Coordinator roles.
Change a role
To change a user's role:
- Open the Roles tab.
- Find the user.
- In the Role column, click the dropdown menu next to their name.
- Select the new role.
- Save your changes.
Role changes take effect immediately.
To remove a management role, click the red person icon next to the user's name and confirm the removal. Removing a role does not remove the user from the Network.
For more information about Manager and Program Coordinator permissions, see Roles & Permissions.